Kamchatka Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography

About the Institute

Federal State Budgetary Scientific Institution “Kamchatka Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography”

The history of Kamchatka Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography (KamchatNIRO) began from 1932. In early period it was known as a branch of Pacific Research Institute of Fisheries and Oceanography, and since 1995 it has been operating as a separate federal institute. The research priorities of KamchatNIRO imply organization and implementation of complex fisheries monitoring studies on the freshwater bodies and on the shelf of Kamchatka, adjacent waters of the North Pacific Ocean, the Sea of Okhotsk and the Bering Sea, including:

  • Studies of biology, stock abundance and perspectives of fisheries  of  commercial fish and shellfish species;
  • Oceanographic studies;
  • Development of fishing gears and improvement of existing fishing methods;
  • Making environmental impact assessment for freshwater and marine ecosystems;
  • Working out scientific basis  for artificial rearing fish and shellfish;
  • Studying fish and shellfish diseases and providing recommendation how to prevent or to stop distribution of main known infections.


KamchatNIRO provides methodical, advisory and practical assistance in the fields including:

• organization and implementation of research works for the fisheries;

• aquaculture and first of all activities of salmon hatcheries, including recommendations on construction;

• making assessment of potential environmental impacts, effects on fish and fish habitats from  human activities (construction of different economic objects, mining mineral resources, etc.) and providing recommendations to mitigate the impacts;

• commercial fishing (testing and invention of fishing gears and methods of fishing);

• informing about achievements of fishery Sciences;

• providing methodical recommendations for keeping marine mammals  in captivity and supply of the mammals for keeping in zoological parks or aquariums



Experts from the FSBSI "KamchatNIRO"

perform annual stock abundance assessment and make forecasts of the catches of the aquatic biological resources in the waters of the Sea of Okhotsk, the Bering Sea and Pacific Ocean adjacent to Kamchatka.


Walleye pollock

Kamchatka region is one of leaders in the catch of walleye pollock, where the proportional contribution of this species  to the total catch of aquatic biological resources is more than a half. The main stock of walleye pollock, which is commercial resource number one in Russia and in the World, lives in the Sea of Okhotsk and in the bering Sea in the waters adjacent to Kamchatka peninsula. In the years of high abundance of the stock the catch of walleye pollock can reach 1,8 million tons. For today the annual catches are about 1,0 million tons in view of downward trend.


Pacific salmon

Thousand rivers and lakes of Kamchatka are extremely rich of fish, including resident and anadromous salmonids. Kamchatka is the only region in Russia, where wild stock of five Pacific salmon species (chum, pink, sockeye, coho and chinook salmons) is of commercial level. Freshwater bodies of the peninsula provide spawning for adult and nursery for juvenile Pacific salmon until smoltification and leaving for a huge feeding area in North Pacific Ocean they could return and close the loop of reproduction. The stock of salmonids of Kamchatka, enormous in its diversity and abundance,  provides significalt contribution to the annual catches of pink salmon (41%), chum salmon (40%), sockeye and chinook salmon (almost 100%), coho salmon (82%)  on Far East. Pacific salmon make up 10-15% in the weight of harvested bioresources, but  as food products made of salmon is highly valuable, the economic role they play is very important.  Commercial fishing of Pacific salmon provides to Kamchatka region about 50% of budget incomes.


Kamchatka region

Kamchatka region completely occupies Kamchatka peninsula on the north-eastern Russia and the Commander and Karaginsky Islands. The territory covers the square of 464 thousand km2. The region currently involves Kamchatka and Koryaksky okrug. Kamchatka peninsula is washed by the waters of the Sea of Okhotsk on the West and by the Bering Sea and Pacific Ocean on the East. The waters have complex systems of sea currents and provide high biological production. The total square of marine commercial fishery districts adjacent to Kamchatka region is taking 1473 thousand  km2 or 427,5 thousand miles2. The districts provide a huge resourse for the fisheries: 5 species of Pacific salmon and more than 40 commercial species of fish (16 marine species) and shellfish. The total allowable catch (TAC) is determined for all these species. The TACs are realized in the course of ocean and  coastal commercial fishing.

КамчатНИРО

Камчатский научно-исследовательский институт рыбного хозяйства и океанографии

Об институте


Федеральное государственное бюджетное научное учреждение
Камчатский научно-исследовательский институт
рыбного хозяйства и океанографии.

    683000, Петропавловск-Камчатский, 
    Набережная, 18
    Тел., факс: (415-2) 41-27-01
    Бухгалтерия: (415-2) 42-33-95
     отдел кадров: (415-2) 42-45-16

Директор - Шпигальская Нина Юрьевна

Камчатский научно-исследовательский институт рыбного хозяйства и океанографии (КамчатНИРО) известен с 1932 года сначала как отделение Тихоокеанского научно-исследовательского института рыбного хозяйства и океанографии, а с 1995 г. — как самостоятельное государственное учреждение. Основным направлением деятельности КамчатНИРО является организация и выполнение комплексных рыбохозяйственных исследований камчатского шельфа, прилегающих к нему акваторий северной части Тихого океана, Охотского и Берингова морей, внутренних водоемов Камчатки, включающее:

  • проведение работ с целью изучения биологии, оценки запасов и прогноза добычи промысловых объектов; 
    выполнение океанологических исследований;
  • разработку орудий лова и совершенствование техники добычи рыб и нерыбных объектов;
  • экологическую оценку вредного воздействия на пресноводные и морские экосистемы;
  • разработку научных основ искусственного разведения рыб и беспозвоночных;
  • изучение болезней рыб, проведение профилактических и лечебных мер борьбы с ними.

 

КамчатНИРО оказывает методическую, консультативную и практическую помощь по следующим направлениям:

  • организация и проведение научных исследований в области рыбного хозяйства;
  • аквакультура, в первую очередь — лососеводство, рекомендации по строительству рыбоводных заводов;
  • экологическая экспертиза в области оценки ущерба от воздействия человека на рыб и среду их обитания (строительство хозяйственных объектов, добыча минеральных ресурсов) разработка мер по снижению ущерба;
  • промышленное рыболовство (орудия и способы лова);
  • информация о достижениях рыбохозяйственной науки;
  • оказывает методические рекомендации по биологии и адаптации морских млекопитающих к условиям неволи и проводит  их отлов для содержания в зоопарках и аквариумах

Специалисты ФГБНУ "КамчатНИРО"

ежегодно выполняют оценку запасов и дают прогноз вылова водных биологических ресурсов, обитающих в водах Охотского, Берингова морей и водах Тихого океана, прилегающих к Камчатке.

Минтай

Камчатский край - один из лидеров по вылову минтая, удельный вес которого составляет более половины всех объемов добычи (вылова) водных биологических ресурсов. Основные запасы минтая, массового объекта российского и мирового промысла, сосредоточены в Охотском и Беринговом морях в водах, прилегающих к Камчатскому полуострову. В годы высокого уровня численности минтая здесь добывалось до 1,8 млн. т. В настоящее время в связи с сокращением запасов вылов составляет около 1,0 млн. т.

Тихоокеанские лососи

Тысячи рек и озер Камчатки исключительно богаты рыбой. Камчатка относится к единственному региону России, в котором воспроизводятся в значительном, для промышленного использования, количестве пять видов тихоокеанских лососей – кета, горбуша, нерка, кижуч, чавыча. В пресных водах полуострова осуществляется воспроизводство тихоокеанских лососей, осваивающих в период нагула обширные акватории северной части Тихого океана. Располагая уникальными по величине запасов и разнообразию, водными биологическими ресурсами Камчатский край ежегодно дает около 41% уловов горбуши, 40% уловов кеты, почти 100% уловов нерки и чавычи, 82% уловов кижуча от вылова этих видов лососей на Дальнем Востоке. Если в весовом отношении тихоокеанские лососи составляют 10-15% вылова края, то, в силу ценности получаемой из них продукции, в экономическом плане, они гораздо более значимы. Промысел тихоокеанских лососей дает Камчатскому краю около 50% поступлений в бюджет от реализации продукции гидробионтов.

Камчатский край

Камчатский край занимает полуостров Камчатка, расположенный, на крайнем северо-востоке России, а также Командорские и Карагинский острова. Территория края охватывает площадь 464 тыс. кв. км. В его состав входят Камчатская область и Корякский округ. Полуостров омывают на западе воды Охотского моря, на востоке – Берингова моря и Тихого океана. Акватории характеризуются сложными системами морских течений и высокой биологической продуктивностью.Общая площадь морских рыбопромысловых районов, прилегающих к территории Камчатского края составляет 1473 тыс. кв. км или 427,5 тыс. кв. миль. В морских промысловых районах, прилегающих к Камчатскому краю, добываются 5 видов тихоокеанских лососей и более сорока видов морских объектов, для которых определяется общий допустимый улов, из которых 16 составляют морские рыбы. Тихоокеанские лососи и около 35 видов морских гидробионтов осваиваются в процессе промышленного и прибрежного рыболовства.

 

Правительство Камчатского края
Северо-Восточное ТО Федерального агентства по рыболовству
Федеральное анегтство по рыболовству